Reinventure founder Simon Cant was inducted into the fintech Hall of Fame at the Finnies Awards

Monoova, Nano Digital Home Loans, BTC Markets, Wagestream, Tanggram and Up are among the biggest winners of the seventh annual FinTech Australia Finnie Awards.

For the first time in the award’s history, no company has won more than a single award, and FinTech Australia’s CEO Rehan D’Almedia said it showed growth in the sector in recent years.

“When I first started working at Finnies, we had a handful of companies cleaning up in several awards,” he said.

“Now, thanks to the level of competition and diversity in the market, companies are lucky to win a single award. It is yet another indicator of how much the sector has grown and matured in such a short time.”

The payment company Moonova was recognized as the FinTech Organization of the Year, while Nano Digital Boliglån picked up the New FinTech Organization of the Year. Tanggram won the award for Best Workplace Diversity Award.

Dominic Pym from Up was named FinTech Leader of the Year, while BTC Markets CEO Caroline Bower won Female FinTech Leader of the Year. Wagestream’s co-founder and CEO Josh Vernon was named Emerging FinTech Leader of the Year.

Reinventure co-founder and partner Simon Cant was inducted as the first person into the Finnies Hall of Fame and joined industry leaders Airwallex and Afterpay.

Cant is the CEO of Westpac-backed Reinventure, Australia’s first dedicated fintech VC company, launched in late 2013, with $ 150 million to invest in early fintechs. He was also the founding president of Fintech Australia.

D’Almedia said they could not think of a more worthy person for the Hall of Fame.

“Many of our winners this year, such as Flare and Zai, are thriving due to early backing from Reinventure,” he said.

“While many fintechs received funding from Simon’s company, countless others have benefited from his advice and guidance over the years. He was also instrumental in capturing initial government support and focusing attention on fintech and regulation. Simon is a true asset to our ecosystem. “

Here are the winners of the Finnies in 2022

Best diversity in the workplace – Tanggram

This year’s new Fintech leader – Josh Vernon, Wagestream

Female Fintech Leader of the Year – Caroline Bowler, Btc Markets

This year’s excellent Fintech leader – Dominic Pym, op

Excellence in establishing a market presence: Global – Wise

Excellence in industrial cooperation and partnerships – Flare

Excellence in corporate lending – Octet

Excellence in consumer loans – Driva and Wisr

Excellent payments (including remittance / eg) – GoCardless

Excellence in Blockchain / Distributed Ledger – Citizens’ book

Excellent in crypto and digital currencies / wallets / exchanges – Crypto.Com

Excellence in Insurtech Koba Insurance

Excellence in Regtech – FrankieOne

Excellence in asset management (including PFM and Robo) – Raiz Invest

Excellence in open data – Frollo

Excellence in Fintech Support Services – Astero

Agreement of the year – Zai

Best partnership of the year – Slyp & Divipay

People’s Choice – New Fintech Organization of the Year – Betacarbon

People’s Choice – Fintech Organization of the Year – Hnry

New Fintech Organization of the Year Nanodigital mortgages

Fintech organization of the year – Monoova

Hall Of Fame inducted – Simon Cant